How Much Marijuana Can I Carry in MN?

The country has undergone somewhat of a cultural shift when it comes to marijuana. The once strictly prohibited drug has seen a major increase in levels of acceptance over the past few years. Most notably, the entire state of Colorado legalized marijuana in an election held in November of 2012 (with some conditions of course).

It seems that every time a general election rolls around, the issue of whether voters wish to legalize marijuana appears front and center. With such a wide array of laws covering the use, sale, and possession of marijuana in the United States, it can be hard to keep up with the current state of the law. The following is what you need to know about marijuana in Minnesota.

REMEMBER: EVERY GRAM COUNTS

It may come as no surprise that the amount of marijuana you carry determines the punishment you are susceptible to. If you are arrested or you have marijuana confiscated by an officer you will be judged according to how much you had in your possession at the time.

SMALL AMOUNTS COME WITH SMALL PUNISHMENTS

This may lead you to wonder, what is a small amount of marijuana in Minnesota? The answer is more precise than you might imagine. If you are in possession of less than 42.5 grams of marijuana it will be considered a “small amount.” This amount will leave you with a fine of no more than $200 and the possibility of a mandatory drug education course.

INCREASED AMOUNTS COME WITH INCREASED PUNISHMENTS

If you are found in possession of 42.6 grams or more you can be punished by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. More than 10 kilograms, and you may be looking at a fine of $250,000 and up to a 20-year prison term. The next level of punishment comes in if you have over 100 kilograms; you could serve a prison term of 30 years and pay a fine of $1,000,000.

DON’T KEEP MARIJUANA IN YOUR CAR

In Mankato, it matters where the marijuana is found when an officer confiscates it. If you have marijuana in your car the safest place to keep it is your trunk. If you have marijuana anywhere inside your car, other than the trunk, something as small as 1.4 grams could cause a large problem. This is because Mankato permits punishment for possession of marijuana inside the car, when it’s greater than 1.4 grams, of up to one year in prison.

SOME PUNISHMENTS ARE MANDATORY

Minnesota imposes mandatory sentences for the most intense violations of the marijuana restrictions. This means if you have possessed 100 kilograms or more of marijuana, you can’t be released from prison unless you have served the entire mandatory prison sentence.

Remember that you can only be punished for possession of marijuana if the prosecutor can prove their case. The state is responsible for proving its case against you; you are not responsible for disproving your case. Still, the best defense is a good offense. Having an experienced attorney working to defend your case gives you the best chance at avoiding a criminal charge. If you have been found in possession of marijuana, call the Mankato attorneys at Kohlmeyer Hagen Law Office at 507-200-8959 for your initial consultation.

Put Our Solutions On Your Case Put Our Solutions On Your Case Put Our Solutions On Your CasePut Our Solutions On Your CasePut Our Solutions On Your CasePut Our Solutions On Your Case