red phone icon
Call Us Today 507 625 5000

Archives

Mankato, MN Woman Charged With DWI After Police Pursuit

According to a report from Southern Minnesota News, Tierra Monique Birris, a 37-year-old woman from Mankato was arrested and charged with several offenses after a police pursuit that ended in a downtown crash. She was booked into custody at the Blue Earth County Jail. In this article, our Mankato drunk driving defense lawyers provide an …

Mankato Driver Arrested With BAC Nearly 6 Times Above Legal Limit, Will Face Gross Misdemeanor Charges

According to a report from The Free Press, a 36-year-old Mankato woman was arrested with an alleged blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.46. For reference, that is nearly six times of the legal blood alcohol limit in Minnesota. Local law enforcement officers noted that she was driving erratically before striking a light pole.  The driver …

DWIs and Commercial Drivers in Minnesota: What You Need to Know

As explained by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, a driver needs a commercial driver’s license (CDL) to lawfully operate a wide range of commercial vehicles in the state, including large trucks, delivery trucks, tow trucks, buses, and much more. If you are a commercial driver, a DWI charge is a very serious problem. In …

How Do Prosecutors Prove Drugged Driving in Minnesota?

Drunk driving has long been a serious public safety issue in the United States. Drugged driving is a less appreciated, but no less severe problem. The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) reports that 12.6 million Americans admitted to driving while under the influence of illicit drugs in 2018 alone. Highway safety experts believe the …

What Happens to Your Vehicle After a DWI Arrest in Minnesota?

Forfeiture laws allow the government to seize property or assets that are used in a connection with a crime. Many people have a basic awareness of the concept of civil forfeiture. Though, these laws are more powerful than is commonly understood. In Minnesota, state authorities may even be able to seize and sell a vehicle …

Four Things DWI Defense Attorneys Want You to Know

Drunk driving is one of the most common criminal charges filed in our state. The Minnesota Office of Traffic Safety reports that 24,862 DWI arrests were made in 2017 alone. While prosecutors have experience handling many DWI cases, most drivers are simply not well-acquainted with the system. As a consequence, people sometimes make avoidable mistakes …

I Was Arrested for a First Time DWI in Minnesota: Will I Lose My Driver’s License?

Our state takes intoxicated driving seriously. The Minnesota Department of Public Safety reports that 24,000 DWI arrests were made in 2017 alone. Whenever a driver is arrested for impaired driving in Minnesota, they will be put on the fast track to having their license revoked.  That being said, there are steps that you can take …

Do You Have a Right to Refuse a Field Sobriety Test in Minnesota?

If you are pulled over on suspicion of intoxicated driving in Minnesota, the responding police officer may ask you to perform a field sobriety test (FST). These tests come in a number of different forms, including:  The Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN);  The walk-and-turn;  The one-legged-stand; and  A preliminary handheld breath test.  While the results of …

Drawing Blood Without a Warrant

As citizens of the United States, two of our most important constitutional rights are the Fifth Amendment right against self-incrimination and the Fourth Amendment right against unlawful searches and seizures. The Fifth Amendment protects individuals from being made to confess or admit guilt to a crime that an individual allegedly committed. The Fourth Amendment protects individuals …